Strigidae – owls

on July 12 | in Strigidae | by | with Comments Off on Strigidae – owls

Owls are classified into two families, Strigidae – the typical or true owls, and Tytonidae the barn-owls, we will consider Strigidae on this post, but they are both in the same Order Strigiformes.

Strigidae is a large family of over 200 species that except for Antarctica has a worldwide distribution. They are chiefly characterized by their broad, round, flat face, their specially adapted flight feathers that are silent in flight, their nocturnal raptor habit of hunting and are typically solitary in their behaviour. 

Best of Owls
Owls have superior senses
Odd facts about owls
How to go looking for Owls

Pin It

related posts

Comments are closed.

« »